Rachel Carter

Regency Author

LUCRETIA

by Rachel Carter

Kidnappings, elopements, duels, diabolical plots. Making your debut has never been so hazardous.

Hidden away from polite society, Lucretia Lanyon spent her time daydreaming of dandies, extravagant pantaloons and intricate neckties. Now an heiress and suddenly the toast of Society, she finds her ideal man in Viscount Prendergast, the one bachelor in London who doesn’t seem interested in marrying her. Lucretia must navigate around nefarious impostors, jealous mistresses, dastardly fortune hunters, and the match-making schemes of her aunt, while she tries to attract the notice of her beau.

Christopher Prendergast, an aspiring dandy, was busy perfecting the art of tying his cravat, learning how to use his quizzing glass as a social weapon, and secretly excelling at Jackson’s boxing saloon. To everyone’s surprise, Christopher finds himself in love for the first time in his life. He must now learn how to secure a lady’s affections. He stumbles through a wooing campaign that includes bizarre gifts, terrible poetry, daring rescues and, finally, honesty. 

Perfect for fans of authors such as Georgette Heyer and Jane Aiken Hodge, Lucretia is a traditional regency romance brimming with period detail, unlikely heroes, delicious villains, and the flourishing of an unlikely love.

I highly recommend this for lovers of the traditional Regency needing something a bit different... Rachel Carter is an upcoming talent. 

Regency Reader


Excellent and thoroughly enjoyable. You will not be disappointed if you love historical romance that is well written with a funny edge. 

ToodlesBookclub

This was great fun. Taking a lot of inspiration from Georgette Heyer and capturing something of that master’s magic, this is a light, enjoyable romantic comedy of manners... There aren’t many people about today who can successfully pull off this style of writing, so I very much look forward to seeing what else this author can produce.

Book Gannett - Amazon top 1000 reviewer

© 2020 by Rachel McHale

MEMBER OF
YORK AUTHORS